Still Alive

It’s been two and a half weeks since my last post, and I spent alot of that time recovering from a flu I caught. While that stopped me in my tracks, it also gave me time to think about what I had been working on and what I want to accomplish right now.

The main thing is that my Framework proved to be overengineered. I was trying to wrap Everything into classes that you would inherit from and use – it was ugly and I had alot of trouble coming up with a decent way to render Everything. I was trying to do too much.

Framework Restart

Instead I decided to put all of that aside and start building a Framework that would only deal with things I’ve seen before, until I have One Of Everything I’ve Already Done.

Over the last couple of days I built a few Sprite classes with varying functions: Animation, Multidirectional, and States. While I haven’t added any of the error-checking, when you use them correctly, they work as I expect them to. Although I’m using the Sprite classes in 2D right now, the transition to 3D will involve only a wrapping interface class.

I shouldn’t ever have to build another Sprite class for XNA again. Yay!

Before I move on to a reusable Tilemap class, I’m building a Sprite Builder application so that you can create sprites in a more visual way, rather than having to punch all of the numbers manually into a file. Here’s what my first version looks like:

There are some things I want to change, but as it is right now it will do everything I want it to. I’ll start adding the code so that it can actually do things rather than just LOOK like it can do things. I’ll likely post a zip/rar somewhere once I have it working and documented enough.

Once I have some tools built, I’ll get back to Ano Sekai. Look forward to it!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Still Alive”

  1. owen Says:

    I hate to say I told you so about the framework. Its nearly impossible to simulate a dynamic parallel world in a 1 dimensional structure such as a class inheritance tree. You’ll end up fixing and patching 100s edge cases into the root class.

    Often times AAA games take all the classes and objects and filter them into simple arrays which they can streamline down to only the active elements that they need check (no big loops through 1000s of objects).

    Is there a solution? I really don’t know. I have tried having separating some objects into thier own unique class trees.

Leave a Reply

