Day-night cycle lighting

I wanted to get the day-night cycle lighting finished up today, and so I did. The last thing I did was to add the day/night cycle along with the sky and land color changing, but I hadn’t yet set it up to smoothly transition. Now it does. I’m not going to bother making a video specifically for this. It’s one small insignificant thing. I’ll show it off when I add something worth making a video over.

A small problem with the lighting is that I actually need two lights to do the cycling properly – at the switch from nighttime to sunrise, the lighting snaps to the other direction from the moon side to the sun side to light sunrise properly. When it goes from daytime to sunset I imagine it happens too. I think Minecraft suffered from the same problem too.

I haven’t yet tackled underground/indoor lighting yet nor sprite lighting, and I don’t plan on it anytime soon. I have a general idea about how to handle them, but for now I want to put these little visual details aside and get to work on core gameplay.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

